| 28 November 2022, Monday |

Countdown began…Here are the lists’ names.

The countdown to binding parliamentary consultations began yesterday, in order to assign who will compose the new government, with the General Secretariat of the House of Representatives sending a list of representatives’ names according to the parliamentary blocs and independent representatives to the General Secretariat of the Presidency of the Republic, which in turn began preparations for the President of the Republic, General Michel Aoun presenting invitations, which may take place during the next two weeks. At the latest, especially since the financial, economic and living collapse does not bear the caretaker government’s continuation for a long time, while the presidential elections are now a few months away.

Despite the secrecy over the form of the list, Al-Jomhouria learned that it did not bring anything new to the previous parliamentary blocs ,although some were newly formed. The previous blocs have retained their names as before.

They are: “Development and Liberation”, “Loyalty to the Resistance”, “Strong Republic”, “Democratic Gathering”, and “Independent National Bloc” consisting of three deputies: Tony Franjieh, Farid El-Khazen and William Tawk, the “Representatives of Tashnaq” bloc, and “The Association of Charitable Projects”. The Islamic Group, consisting of MPs Adnan Traboulsi and Taha Naji, is the Islamic Group.

Previous blocs, including the “Lebanese Kataeb”, returned to the council with four representatives: Sami Gemayel, Elias Hankash, Nadim Gemayel and Salim al-Sayegh. The Independence Movement, which includes MPs Michel Moawad and Adeeb Abdel Masih. A new bloc was created, the “Northern Parliamentary Gathering,” which brought together deputies from Akkar, Tripoli, Minieh and Denniye, and absorbed the deputies of the Akkar Development Bloc, which had been announced after the election results.

The list included the names of the remaining deputies as independent, so the 13 “change deputies” were referred to as independent deputies without referring to any new name or bloc that unites them, provided that the bloc acquires any name it can choose later, as well as for the independent deputies: Jamil al-Sayed, Neamat Frem , Michel Murr and others from outside the previously announced blocs.

The report of the General Secretariat of the House of Representatives noted the possibility for any group of independent representatives to choose a name to be included on the list before setting the date for the parliamentary consultations. The binding that the president-designate will undertake to form a government if the situation does not change between the two dates.

  • Sawt Beirut International