| 27 May 2024, Monday |

Bahrain bans travelers from southern African states over COVID-19 concerns

Bahrain has prohibited tourists from South Africa and five southern African countries from entering the country because to fears about the spread of COVID-19, according to the state news agency BNA on Friday.

Bahraini nationals and those having Bahraini residence visas were not included in the decision, according to the statement.

Meanwhile, the World Health Organization warned Friday that experts would need “a few weeks” to assess the impact of the new C0VID-19 variation B.1.1.529 discovered in South Africa.

“Researchers are working to understand more about the mutations and what they might mean for how transmissible or virulent this variant is,” WHO spokesman Christian Lindmeier told reporters as a virtual meeting of WHO experts began to determine whether B.1.1.529 should be classified as a variant of interest or concern.

  • Reuters