| 24 May 2024, Friday |

France has eased its border restrictions for UK holidaymakers.

The French government announced that from Friday the UK is one of seven countries outside the EU that people can travel from and to without justifying their journey.

The others are Australia, Israel, Japan, Singapore, South Korea and New Zealand.

Tourism minister Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne said people travelling to France from the seven countries will need evidence of a negative, coronavirus test taken within the previous 72 hours.

About 17 million British nationals normally visit France every year.

But the easing of border rules will not lead to an immediate return to travel across the Channel as foreign holidays for people living in the UK are currently banned.

Boris Johnson’s road map for easing restrictions in England states that overseas leisure travel could be permitted from May 17.

Cyprus is aiming to welcome the return of foreign tourists from May 1, while Greece is aiming to reopen its borders from May 14.