| 19 May 2024, Sunday |

Japan tightening border controls on three more African countries – Foreign Ministry

Following the discovery of a novel coronavirus variety in South Africa, Japan will strengthen border restrictions for the southern African nations of Mozambique, Malawi, and Zambia, mandating a 10-day quarantine for all entry, the Foreign Ministry announced on Saturday.

The new measures will go into force on Saturday at midnight (1500 GMT), one day after Japan strengthened border procedures for visitors from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Namibia, and Lesotho.

  • Reuters