| 25 February 2024, Sunday |

Moscow bans 287 UK lawmakers from Russia, drawing British sarcasm

Russia barred 287 British lawmakers from entering the country on Wednesday, accusing them of fomenting “Russophobic hysteria” in the country, prompting a defiant response from Prime Minister Boris Johnson.

In response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the United Kingdom and its allies imposed harsh sanctions on Moscow’s wealthy oligarchs and political elites, including President Vladimir Putin.

The 287-name list included current and former ministers, as well as several people who are no longer members of parliament. Dominic Grieve, a former lawmaker, appears twice.

“All 287 should see it as a badge of honor,” Johnson, who was barred from entering Russia on April 16, told parliament.

  • Reuters