| 7 December 2023, Thursday |

Russia bans eight EU citizens from entry -ministry

Russia on Friday barred 8 officials from European Union countries from entering the country in retaliation for sanctions imposed on Russian nationals by the EU.

The Russian foreign ministry said those banned included David Sassoli, the president of the European parliament, and Vera Jourova, vice president for values and transparency at the executive European Commission.

In March, the EU imposed sanctions on two Russian cititzens accused of persecuting gay and lesbian people in the southern Russian region of Chechnya. The EU also imposed sanctions on 4 top Russian officials close to President Vladimir Putin in March.

  • Reuters