| 26 May 2024, Sunday |

Saudi Arabia lifts travel ban for expatriate residents from 20 countries

Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Interior said the Kingdom has  lifted a travel ban on Tuesday for expatriate residents from 20 countries imposed in February to contain the spread of COVID-19.

Travelers who have received both vaccine shots while in Saudi Arabia will now be allowed to travel back to the Kingdom.

The 20 countries are: The United Arab Emirates, Lebanon, Egypt, India, Argentina, Germany, the US, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, the UK, Turkey, the Republic of South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, and Japan.

Saudi Arabia imposed the ban on February 2 in order to avoid transmitting new cases of COVID-19. Citizens, diplomats, health practitioners, and their families were exempt from the ban.

In July, the Ministry of the Interior announced that Saudi citizens who broke COVID-19 travel rules would be prohibited from traveling for 3 years.

Those who traveled to prohibited countries would also receive large fines.

The Kingdom opened its borders to vaccinated tourists on August 1, according to the tourism ministry.

  • alarabiya