| 29 May 2024, Wednesday |

UAE suspends entry to passengers from Afghanistan and Indonesia

Travellers from Afghanistan and Indonesia are to be suspended from entering the United Arab Emirates as of Sunday, in the latest round of coronavirus restrictions.

The General Civil Aviation Authority said the move would take effect at 11.59pm on Sunday, July 11.

This includes suspending the entry of travellers who were in these countries 14 days before coming to the UAE. Flights can continue to transit via the emirates.

Official delegations and UAE residents who carry a golden visa are exempt. They must undertake a 10-day quarantine period, according to a statement from GCAA and National Authority for Emergency, Crisis and Disaster Management (Ncema) on state news agency Wam.

Both countries have seen a recent spike in cases in July.

In Indonesia, the number of new daily cases has risen dramatically from about 3,000 in May to 38,000 on Thursday.

The world’s four most populous country faces a drastic shortage of oxygen, officials said on Friday.

The flight restrictions are the latest imposed by the Emirates to halt the spread of coronavirus cases.

The current list of countries with travel restrictions also includes India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Nigeria and the Philippines until July 15. The list is set to be reviewed by UAE officials this week.

  • The National News