| 23 February 2024, Friday |

UK adds Qatar and Oman to red travel list

Oman, Qatar, Ethiopia and Somalia were added to the UK’s travel red list, Britain’s Department for Transport said on Monday.

The new rules will come into force on Friday.

Meanwhile, Portugal and Mauritius have been removed from Britain’s travel red list.

The department said a ban on flights between both countries and the UK had also been lifted because it was confident the risk of importing coronavirus variants had reduced.

Travelers from either country who arrive in England will not have to quarantine in a government approved center but must self-isolate at home for 10 days, as is the case with travellers from elsewhere.

They must also take a test on days two and eight. Under the optional Test to Release initiative, a third test must be taken, on day five, and such travelers may be allowed to end self-isolation early.

As UK nations, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland use the same red list as England, but they have their own quarantine rules.

“Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) and Mauritius will be removed from England’s red list. The flight and maritime ban from Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) will also be removed, following evidence that shows the risk of importing a variant of concern from these destinations has reduced,” the transport ministry said.

“Portugal has put steps in place to mitigate the risk from its links with countries where variants have become a concern, and now has genomic surveillance in place.”