| 26 September 2022, Monday |

Hong Kong extends ban on flights from eight countries, adds Nepal

Hong Kong extended a ban on inbound flights from eight countries, including the United States and the United Kingdom, and imposed one on Nepal until March 4, citing fears about a rising COVID-19 epidemic.

Australia, Canada, France, India, Pakistan, and the Philippines round out the list.

Flights to Hong Kong are down 90%, and few are allowed to transit as the financial center isolates itself from the rest of the world in the hope of containing a coronavirus outbreak, despite the fact that new infections are overwhelmingly local transmissions.

  • Reuters