| 29 May 2024, Wednesday |

Saudi Arabia Halts Flights From 7 More African Nations over New COVID-19 Strain

Saudi Arabia has suspended flights to and from seven southern African nations due to concerns related to the spread of the new COVID-19 strain, state news agency SPA reported Sunday.


Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Interior said it halted flights from and to Malawi, Zambia, Madagascar, Angola, Seychelles, Mauritius and the Comoros Islands owing to concerns related to the spread of the new COVID variant.


A senior official in the interior ministry said the decision includes suspending entry to the Kingdom for non-nationals, who come directly and indirectly from the mentioned African countries except for those who have spent a period of no less than 14 days in another country from which health procedures in the Kingdom allow entry to those coming from, in accordance with the approved health procedures.


Provided that the entire approved institutional quarantine procedures for a period of five days are applied to all excluded groups coming from these countries, including citizens of the Kingdom, regardless of the status of immunization.


Earlier on Friday, Saudi Arabia suspended flights to and from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho and Eswatini.


The source explained that all procedures and measures are subject to continuous evaluation by the competent health authorities in the Kingdom, according to the developments in the epidemiological situation globally, while warning citizens and residents to avoid traveling to the seven African countries until further notice.

  • Asharq Al-Awsat